Filing a New Jersey Personal Injury Claim
Steps to pursue in preparation of a personal injury lawsuit in New Jersey
Citizens in New Jersey are entitled to file their own personal injury lawsuits without the help of an attorney. If your damages are less than $3,000, you can file with the small claims court. For damages greater than $3,000 but less than $15,000, New Jersey has the special civil part division. Plaintiffs seeking to recover more than $15,000 must file with the state court in the county where the injury occurred. Nevertheless, The Anthony Pope Law Firm truly believes that to secure the compensation you’re entitled to, it’s essential to have a knowledgeable and experienced personal injury attorney on your side.
If you’ve viewed any of the daytime TV court shows, you know how easy it is for an otherwise intelligent person to embarrass himself and jeopardize his case because of unfamiliarity with the law and court procedure. Self-representation is never a good idea, but there are steps you can and should take in support of your case:
- Secure the site of the injury
- Contact an attorney
- Document your injury
- Share all the evidence you’ve collected with your attorney
Your push for compensation begins as soon as you’re injured
Recovering compensation for your injuries requires evidence that someone other than yourself was at fault. The lion’s share of that evidence is to be found at the scene of your accident. Unfortunately, accident scenes in New Jersey are often heavily trafficked spaces where physical evidence degrades and witnesses disperse quickly. To the greatest extent possible, you must preserve evidence from the scene by taking photographs and getting contact information from witnesses. If you are incapacitated, you can hope the police make an accurate and detailed report.
Contact an attorney as soon as possible about your injury claim
After your accident, you should have many questions to ask an attorney. But in addition to getting vital information, retaining an attorney sends a strong signal to the party at fault that you’ll settle for nothing less than full compensation. Additionally, you’re hurt and emotionally distraught; you need someone who’s experienced with these types of situations to keep a cool head and prepare your personal injury claim.
Immediately seek medical care
Any delay in getting a physical examination creates doubt that the incident in question caused your injuries. If you believe at the time of the incident that your injuries are not serious, adrenaline could well be masking your symptoms.
Provide your attorney with all the relevant facts and documentation
For most personal injury cases in New Jersey, you have two years to file a lawsuit. But your attorney can begin right away to negotiate a settlement. Since it’s often in your best interest to conclude the process quickly, you should get your attorney working for you as soon as possible.
Contact an experienced attorney to start your personal injury action
The Anthony Pope Law Firm has vast experience with New Jersey personal injury claims. To schedule a free consultation and case evaluation, call us at 973.536.2346 or contact us online.